A pre-authorisation charge, also known as a pre-auth or authorisation hold, is a temporary reservation on funds in a customer’s account. It’s used to reserve a certain amount to cover a pending transaction that will be taken at a later time, without actually debiting the account upfront.
In most cases, the merchant will release the pre-authorisation once the transaction is completed and the final amount is charged. If the merchant does not release it, the pre-authorisation will automatically expire after 30 days and will then be removed from your dashboard.
To put your mind at ease, we have not held any money aside from your bank account for these pre-authorisations and we will not be looking to debit them.
If a pre-authorisation is still showing after 30 days, please contact our Customer Support team via help@currensea.com and we’ll be happy to look into this for you.